£A124

(180)

NEW YORK, AUG. 29 (AP)-PRESIDENT JOHNSON SIGNED INTO LAW LAST NIGHT A BILL PROVIDING THE DEATH PENALTY FOR PRESIDENTIAL ASSASSINS. BUT THE FOUR MEN WHO KILLED PRESIDENTS MET VIOLENT DEATH IN ONE WAY OR ANO

THER

TWO WERE EXECUTED UNDER LOCAL MURDER LAWS AND THE OTHER TWO WERE SHOT TO DEATH.

LEON CZOLGOSZ, WHO SHOT PRESIDENT WILLIAM MCKINLEY IN BUFFALO, N.Y., ON SEPT. 6, 1901, WAS CONVICTED UNDER NEW YORK LAW AND WAS ELECTROCUTED AT THE STATE PRISON IN AUBURN, N.Y., OCT. 29, 1901.

CHARLES J. GUITEAU, WHO SHOT PRESIDENT JAMES GARFIELD IN WASHINGTON, D.C., JULY 2, 1881, WAS HANGED IN A WASHINGTON JAIL JUNE 30, 1882.

THE OTHER TWO ASSASSINS MET VIOLENT DEATH SHORTLY AFTER THEIR CRIMES.

JOHN WILKES BOOTH, WHO KILLED PRESIDENT ABRAHAM LINCOLN IN WASHINGTON APRIL 14, 1865, WAS SHOT. 12 DAYS LATER IN A BARN NEAR PORT ROYAL, VA., WHERE HE HAD HIDDEN FROM PURSUERS. THE SHOT WAS FIRED BY SGT. BOSTON CORBETT.

LEE HARVEY OSWALD, WHO KILLED PRESIDENT JOHN F. KENNEDY NOV. 22, 1963, WAS SLAIN IN DALLAS CITY JAIL TWO DAYS LATER BY JACK RUBY. MJ742PED