LaRue, an assistant to former Attorney General John N. Mitchell, who headed the reelection campaign, pleaded guilty to a conspiracy to obstruct justice.

Most of 60 Individuals and Concerns Pleaded Guilty

By WALTER RUGABER
Special to The New York Times
WASHINGTON, Jan. 1
While more than 60 individuals and corporations have been convicted or pleaded guilty to criminal charges growing out of the Watergate scandals, only a handful have gone on trial.

The legal pattern was set two years ago, on Jan 10 1072

LaRue, an assistant to former Attorney General John N. Mitchell, who headed the reelection campaign, pleaded guilty to a conspiracy to obstruct justice.

Mr. LaRue, a Mississippi oilman who became an important witness for the prosecution, is awaiting sentencing. But many of the most prominent Watergate figures are already serving prison terms.

Jeb Stuart Magruder, former deputy director of the Committee for the Re-Election of the President, was sentenced last May 21 to a term of 10 months to five years in prison in that case.

Others who chose jury trials and were found guilty by the panels included Dwight L. Chapin, the former White House appointments secretary, and Ed Reinecke, the former Lieutenton tunited States.

John W. Dean 3d, former counsel to President Nixon, was callerations in the investigation

the Watergate scandals, only a handful have gone on trial.

The legal pattern was set two years ago, on Jan. 10, 1973, when E. Howard Hunt Jr., a defendant in the original bugging and break-in case, pleaded guilty before Judge John J. Sirica of the United States District Court here.

Four of his co-defendants took a similar course, and only two—G. Gordon Liddy and James W. McCord Jr. — remained to be found guilty by the jurors on Jan. 30.

Since then, practically all of the Watergate figures have chosen to plead guilty before judges, sometimes without a grand jury indictment against them. Prosecutors would simply file the equivalent, an information, with the plea.

The parade of Nixon campaign workers and White House officials began on June 27, 1973, when Frederick C.