.... the so-called "Washington Special Action Group," a small, select committee chartered to deal with unforeseen national security crises.

The members of [this] group are U. Alexis Johnson, undersecretary of state for political affairs (number three in the department); Richard Helms, director of the central Intelligence agency; General Earle Wheeler, Chairman of the joint chiefs of staff, and David Packard, deputy secretary of defense.

[Clipping filed Indochina.]