Frederick B. Abramson President

Paul L. Friedman President-Elect

Daryl A. Chamblee Secretary

Donald T. Bucklin Treasurer



Katherine A. Mazzaferri Executive Director

David B. Dorsey
Assistant Executive
Director

Ann Barker
Director, Public
Service Activities

## The District of Columbia Bar

1426 H STREET, N.W., EIGHTH FLOOR, WASHINGTON, D.C. 20005-2184 (202) 638-1500

Lawyer Referral and Information Service 638-1509

July 18, 1985

Mr. Harold Weisberg 7627 Old Receiver Road Frederick, Maryland 21701

Dear Mr. Weisberg:

When you wrote to me last year, I forwarded the material you sent to the Chairperson of Division V, Criminal Law and Individual Rights. I also recommended that you contact the ACLU, which I see you have done.

By copy of this letter I am forwarding your recent correspondence to the current Chairperson of Division V, Kim Taylor. As you may know, the members of the D.C. Bar, through several referenda, have limited the activities in which the association may engage. However, perhaps a member of Division V can offer some insight into the issues raised in the documents you have provided.

Sincerely,

Katherine A. Mazzaferri

Karran A May efe

cc: Kim Taylor, Esq.
Chairperson, Division V
Public Defender Service
451 Indiana Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20001

## **BOARD OF GOVERNORS**

Frederick B. Abramson • Donald T. Bucklin • Daryl A. Chamblee • Vincent H. Cohen • James E. Coleman Jr. Yvonne A. Conner • Dr. Chauncey Fortt • Paul L. Friedman • Jane A. Golden • Jamie S. Gorelick Marcia D. Greenberger • Janine D. Harris • Ann Kernan Macrory • Anne Meister • Frank J. Martell M. Elizabeth Medaglia • Charles F.C. Ruff • Lois J. Schiffer • Girardeau A. Spann • Marna S. Tucker John Vanderstar • William P. Vazquez • Patricia A. Wynn