INTERNATIONAL LABOR DEFENSE

Washington Bureau

606-7 EARLE BUILDING

::

WASHINGTON, D. C.

NAtional 4795

LOUIS COLMAN, Director

January 17, 1939.

Hon. VITO MARCANTONIO

National President

WILLIAM L. PATTERSON
First Vice-President

RICHARD B. MOORE
WINIFRED CHAPPELL
JAN WITTENBER
A. R. NEWHOFF
HENRY SHEPARD
ELAINE BLACK
Vice-Presidents

ANNA DAMON National Secretary

LOUIS COLMAN
Ass's National Secretary

ROBERT DUNN National Treasurer

ROSE BARON
National Prisoners
Relief Director

SASHA SMALL
Publicity and Publications Director

Legal Advisory Committee

GEORGE R. ANDERSEN HART E. BAKER DAVID J. BENTALL JOSEPH R. BRODSKY GILBERTO CONCEPCION BEN DAVIS, Jr. JOHN P. DAVIS J. ALLAN FRANKEL LEO GALLAGHER IRVIN GOODMAN GROVER C. JOHNSON CAROL KING EDWARD KUNTZ EDWARD LAMB YETTA LAND Hon. VITO MARCANTONIO LOUIS F. McCABE HERMAN L. MIDLO Prof. LEON A. RANSOM SAMUEL L. ROTHBARD

SAUL C. WALDBAUM A. L. WIRIN

357

SYLVIA SCHLESINGER

ISAAC SHORR

JOSEPH TAUBER
Prof. HERBERT T. WECHSLER

Dear Friend:

RE: DIES COMMITTEE

The mood of Congress as expressed in the WPA
Appropriations measure, in which the reactionaries (Democrats
under the leadership of Vice-President Garner, plus nearly all
the Republicans) showed great and well-organized strength,
makes for a bad outlook in regard to the future of the Dies
Committee. Unless tremendous pressure is brought on individual
congressmen from their constituents, it is likely that Dies!
new resolution, with a very large appropriation of funds, will
go through.

Fortunately, Dies seems to have been persuaded to abandon his original plans for introduction of a privileged resolution, which would have meant immediate consideration in the House, with one-hour time limit on discussion. Apparently he will let his resolution go through the usual committee channels. This will give us more time. But the House Committee members before which the resolution will come are for the most part friendly to Dies, and we can expect very quick action from them to bring his resolution to the floor.

Meanwhile, it is of the utmost importance that protests go in greatly increased numbers, against any further appropriations for the Dies Committee. It is especially important that these resolutions come from A. F. of L. unions, church groups, organizations of women, of voters, consumers, etc., and other bodies not commonly referred to as "left," and from thousands of individuals.

Wires and resolutions should be sent to the senders' own Congressmen, and to Speaker William B. Bankhead, House of Representatives. If possible copies of such resolutions should be sent to this office.

The reactionary forces and organizations throughout the country are much busier than we on this question. Resolutions and telegrams are pouring in from them, asking for continuance of the Dies Committee. We have to get doubly busy on this. Every local channel of publicity, mailing, personal contact and visits to organizations should be utilized without any delay.

Defeat of the Dies Committee is the first order of business on the I.L.D. Legislative Program.

: National Committee

Rose Baron
Elaine Black
Ella Reeve Bloor
Timothy Burr
Winifred Chappell
Gifford Cochran
Louis Colman
Anna Damon
Ben Davis, Jr.
John P. Davis
Samuel I. Dlugin
Robert Dunn
Alfred L. Ellis
Ralph Emerson

Robert Fitzgerald
Elizabeth Gurley Flynn
Leo Gallagher
Rojelio Gomez
Irvin Goodman
Lillian Goodman
Carl Hacker
Clarence Hathaway
Angelo Herndon
Dirk de Jonge
Rockwell Kent
Hon, Vito Marcantonio
La Rue McCormick
Richard B, Moore

Dwight C. Morgan
A. R. Newhoff
Herbert Nugent
Robert Parker
William L. Patterson
Henry Shepard
Albert Simmons
Lawrence Simpson
Sasha Small
Mary A. Sweres
Errol White
James Waterman Wise
Jan Wittenber

National Advisory Board

Max Bedacht
Clara Bodian
Dr. Arnold Donawa
James W. Ford
William Z. Foster
Mrs. J. C. Guggenheimer

Jessica Henderson
J. B. McNamara
Bruce Minton
Tom Meyerscough
Tom Mooney
Samuel Ornitz

Icseph Pass
Isobel Walker Soule
Louise Thompson
Maude White
Anita C. Whitney
Mrs. Ada Wright

RE: LA FOLLETTE COMMITTEE

There is grave danger that the La Follette Senate Civil Liberties Committee will fold up and not be revived. Vice-President Garner, who is president of the Senate, is marshalling all his forces to prevent continuation of the committee and its work.

Resolutions and telegrams along the same lines and with the same emphasis on the type of organizations and individuals, should be sent asking for continuation of the Committee and its work to:

Senator La Follette, Senator Elbert D. Thomas of Utah, Senator Alben Barkley, Vice-President Garner, President Roosevelt.

The same story as that of the Dies Committee applies in reverse to the La Follette Civil Liberties Committee, except that this is a Senate matter. The reactionary forces, fearing the exposure of such fascist outfits as the Associated Farmers of California, are bending every effort to prevent continuation of its work.

Speed is essential here also.

* * * * *

These two questions, of the Dies Committee and the Senate Civil Liberties Committee should definitely be made the subject of separate resolutions in organizations. Separate letters and telegrams should be sent.

Fraternally.

LOUIS COLMAN

LC:MB UOPWA#16